1 Open Realtime game
    Pages:   1   (1 in total)
  1. #1 / 11
    Colonel M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Colonel
    Rank Posn

I'm pretty sure I have asked about this before and the idea was dismissed because it was thought that it would be a coding nightmare, but it's still a feature I often think about as a designer.

I would like to see a designer feature that sets a restricted range for individual units on any given turn.  This would be independent of the "# of attacks allowed per turn" feature.  I've been thinking about the coding for this and came up with a potential solution.  I'm not a programmer, so feel free to tell me it's not a realistic solution.

Rather than track the individual units, just backtrack the attack route.  Example: With a  globally set unit range of 4, a player orders T5 to attack T6

• The program looks for any previous attacks of T5 in that turn, and finding T4 -> T5, then looks for any previous attacks of T4, etc.. 
    • After finding  T4->T5, T3->T4, T2->T3, and finally T1->T2, any further attacks emanating from T5 are disallowed.

This algorithm would have the effect of allowing blitzing, but it would be restricted/controlled.

BAO alternative:
    https://sites.google.com/site/m57sengine/home

2. #2 / 11
    Pop. 1, Est. 1981 Alpha
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

I am not sure what you are looking for, but by "restricted range for individual units on any given turn", I thought you were talking about having a maximum number of units per turn at first.  However, I believe you are asking of a restriction on the number of times a unit can move from one territory to another.