3 Open Realtime games
    Pages:   12   (2 in total)
  1. #1 / 21
    Colonel M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Colonel
    Rank Posn

I was just posting in another thread and mentioned the concept of a "Fair Dice Outcome" generator, and I got to thinking that it could be a design option.

The way it would work is that instead of the engine throwing dice, it would generate expected outcomes in as smooth/even a fashion as possible.  Given that standard WG dice aren't fair in the first place, this would result in a WLWLWL.. pattern with the occasional extra W thrown in based on how many dice are attacking/defending and what the border dice mods are.

I'm not sure that I would use this as a designer myself, but I thought I'd throw it out there..  For instance, some designers might want to offer it as a Scenario option, and I suppose there might be some designs out there that might be better using as fair dice as possible.

It could be a game creator option in unranked games so that players could play test games to identify strongholds and weak areas in boards, or if replay (unranked, of course) is ever an option, it could be used to test for the expected outcome of a game.

It should be possible to play WG boards in real-time ..without the wait, regardless of how many are playing.
    https://sites.google.com/site/m57sengine/home

2. #2 / 21
    Hey....Nice Marmot BorisTheFrugal
    Rank
    Captain
    Rank Posn

Are you suggesting that luck would be removed from the game?
    So now it's just 50/50 attack vs defend, so when you make any attack from any country, you'll know, before you try the attack, whether you'll take the country?

3. #3 / 21
    Shelley, not Moore Ozyman
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn