2 Open Realtime games
    Pages:   1   (1 in total)
  1. #1 / 8
    Premium Member Spider
    Rank
    Lieutenant
    Rank Posn

Hi all:

What's the best etiquette for leaving a game early, should it run much, much longer than you had anticipated or something comes up and takes you away from the internet?

I recently found myself in a nice three-way fight with two good players. I was excited, b/c I'm not very good at even handed, multi-player finishes (topic for different post) and felt like I was learning a bit. Unfortunately, the slow close to the game ran into a meeting that I had scheduled.   All were trying to keep the board balanced and look for an opportunity. So, I made my issue known just before my turn, when the players had ~ an even number of armies (cards were not optimal) and then I communicated the issue and offered my surrender.

Certainly, the best tenet for this is, "don't be an idiot. In this case, don't join a live game, if you may have to leave early." But it happened.

2. #2 / 8
    Major General asm asm is offline now
    Standard Member asm
    Rank
    Major General
    Rank Posn

Sounds to me like you couldn't do much better than you did. I was going to offer the advice in your last paragraph but you covered that already. Short of that, finding a moment when your departure won't imbalance the game for the other players, and offering plenty of advance warning, sounds like the best possible outcome. So good on you for being considerate.

Been gone a while. You all did a good job holding down the fort.

3. #3 / 8
    Colonel M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Colonel
    Rank Posn

There is no good current solution, but dumb bots would be nice..

http://www.wargear.net/forum/showthread/1472p1/AI_player(s)

Card Membership - putting the power of factories in your hand.

4. #4 / 8
    Premium Member Spider
    Rank
    Lieutenant
    Rank Posn

M57 wrote:

There is no good current solution, but dumb bots would be nice..