3 Open Realtime games
    Pages:   12   (2 in total)
  1. #1 / 29
    Brigadier General M57 M57 is offline now
    Standard Member M57
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

Maybe there could be a free three month Premium Membership offered when a board gets approved by the review board.  I'm not saying this because I'm a designer and want more free membership time.  I don't need it. I'm on the five year plan and I'm working hard to give back my significant monetary winnings from board design competitions in the form of free memberships via tournaments. I think the site needs to support and encourage ALL designers.  Board production is down, and I don't think that bodes well for the site moving forward.

So I'm thinking that if there's a payoff for ANY board that gets approved, then perhaps the criteria for board quality can rise as well.  For this reason, I'm not advocating switching to a membership immediately.  There would need to be consensus by board reviewers regarding standards, etc. so the system wouldn't be abused or taken advantage of.  There are enough boards out there now that quantity is not as important as quality.

Just throwing the general idea out there.

Card Membership - putting the power of factories in your hand.
    Edited Tue 3rd Mar 19:58 [history]

2. #2 / 29
    Shelley, not Moore Ozyman
    Rank
    Brigadier General
    Rank Posn

I kind of feel like the contest is enough right now.  If you make a decent map, you're almost guaranteed to be in the prize money, certainly for the themed contest.

If anything, as a designer, what would encourage me the most is if more people played my maps.   That's a bit more complicated to encourage, but I think there are things that could be done.

The #1 thing that IMO would encourage players to try out new maps, is if there was an easy way to play unranked games on a map.  I think a lot of players don't want to try new maps because they know they are likely to lose their first few games.